President reconstitutes National Finance Commission

ISLAMABAD: The president has reconstituted the National Finance Commission (NFC) with Finance Minister Asad Umar as its chairman, according to a Finance Division notification.

Apart from the federal finance minister, the NFC members would consist of finance ministers of all four provinces, while Dr Salman Shah (Punjab), Musharraf Rasool Cyan (Khyber Pakhtunkhwa) Mahfooz Ali Khan (Balochistan) and Asad Sayeed (Sindh) would represent their respective provinces.

Earlier this month, the scribe reported that the NFC award was expected this month as the provinces had finally sent their nominations for reconstitution of the commission.

The Ministry of Finance, soon after receiving the nominations from Sindh and Balochistan, forwarded the summary to the prime minister for subsequent approval from the president for the reconstitution of the 9th NFC.

Article continues after this advertisement

It is pertinent to mention that Sindh, Balochistan and Punjab were reluctant to send their nominations as they did not want to allow an increase in the share of the centre, as the federal government needed more allocations to meet the expenditure of war on terror, security, capital, tribal areas, Gilgit Baltistan and Azad Kashmir.

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Must Read

FBR likely to get Rs660mn in six cases of tax evasion

The field formations of the Federal Board of Revenue (FBR) on the intervention of the Federal Tax Ombudsman (FTO) have created an Income tax...